Diphonic Songs / Percus "World"

"Breath ... Tempo... Harmony"

Two approaches to time, one with the breath and tone of voice the other with hands and cycles at your fingertips.
Mongolian nomadic shepherds
have, since the time of Genghis Khan sought to imitate the sounds produced by animals and nature : sheep, horses, water,
the wind... Little by little, they developed special singing techniques, among them: the xöömij (whistled diphonic song) and the xarxiraa (litt. "small river" or the name of a black crane, a deep diphonic song) where the voice emits 2 distinct sounds at the same time and becomes a bumblebee that offers an array of harmonic melodies. Since then, these songs, called "diphonic songs," have been transmitted over time.

Martin Dubois, who received the transmission from Tserendavaa and Johanni Curtet, Nomad Roads, offers you the opportunity to discover the basic techniques to penetrate this universe and immerse yourself in this practice with beneficial effects for voice, body and mind: Harmonic massages!

Some references: "Permabondance" Day, Haute-Savoie (May 2019), Hand Pan Festival (2016, 2019), Harmonic Festival (2018), Harmony of the Steppes (2016), Yoga Festival of Geneva (2018), Full presence and Diphonic Chant, Corsica (April 2019), School Geneva (2018), "Center of Good Vibes," Delhi, Harkat Studio, Mumbai (2019) ...

Diphonic Song :

Did you know that everyone is able to release two sounds with one voice ? A Mongol diphonic singer can sing a vocal drone and simultaneously perform a harmonic melody. This acrobatics of the voice is virtuose, but singing two sounds, simply superimposed, is accessible to all if we are given the keys. 

Anyone can be introduced to diphonic singing ! Exercises of bodybuilding of the mouth, language, breath management, control of the sound with and without diphony, enrich the quality of the voice, practical exercises to address the harmonic modulation will lead us (depending on the level) to achieve a melody in diphonic singing. With this method, everyone can practice xöömij art seriously at home if they wish. Whether the trainee is a novice or already initiated, taking advantage of this workshop, everyone leaves with effective methods to better manage his breath and enrich the quality of his voice.

Rhythm :

We will discuss the concepts of tempo (internal and external), listening, breathing, nuances and openness needed to play together.We will approach the rhythms by song and with the aid of onomatopoeia (ex : TA DOUM ). After this we will be soaked in different sounds and instruments, such as jugs, thumb piano, lithophones, xylophones, Tibetan bowls, bells,drums, tablas... Coming from different continents, everyone is allowed to choose the instrument of their choice and adapt its song to their feeling. The goal is to create “small musical pieces” together with simple rhythms. For this to work a coherent, rhythmic and melodic sound should be put in place progressively in order to obtain an esthetique and harmonious sound that fits as one. Each trainee will be able to discover himself, gain a better rhythmic foundation and a greater confidence in his ability to share...Musically and humanly.
At the end of the course, we will try to link the practice of diphonic singing to that of rhythm in order to create together an improvised piece naturally for the occasion!
Chant diphonique

"Breath ... Tempo... Harmony"

Rythme avec Martin Dubois
en_USEnglish
fr_FRFrench en_USEnglish

Chants Diphoniques / Percus “World”

« Souffle ... Tempo ... Harmonie »

Deux approches du temps, l’une avec le souffle et le timbre de la voix l’autre avec les mains et des cycles au bout des doigts.
Les bergers nomades mongols
ont depuis le temps de Gengis Khan cherché à imiter les sons produits par les animaux et la nature : les moutons, les chevaux, l’eau,
le vent… Ils ont ainsi, petit à petit, mis au point des techniques de chant particulières, parmi elles : le xöömij (chant diphonique sifflé) et le xarxiraa (litt. « petite rivière » ou le nom d’une grue noire, un chant diphonique profond) où la voix émet 2 sons bien distincts en même temps et devient un bourdon qui offre une panoplie de mélodies harmoniques. Depuis, ces chants appelés « chants diphoniques », se sont transmis au fil du temps.

Martin Dubois, qui a reçu la transmission de Tserendavaa et Johanni Curtet, Routes Nomades, vous propose de découvrir les techniques de base pour pénétrer cet univers et s’immerger dans cette pratique aux effets bénéfiques pour la voix, le corps et l’esprit : Massages harmoniques !

Quelques références : Journée « Permabondance », Haute-Savoie (mai 2019), Hand Pan Festival (2016, 2019), Harmonic Festival (2018), Harmonie des steppes (2016), Yoga Festival de Genève (2018), Peine Présence et Chant Diphonique, Corse (Avril 2019), École internationale de Genève (2018), « Center of Good Vibes », Delhi , « Harkat Studio », Mumbai (2019) …

Chant Diphonique :

Saviez-vous que tout le monde est capable de sortir deux sons avec une seule voix ? Un xöömijch (chanteur de chant diphonique Mongol) peut, à lui seul, chanter un bourdon vocal et réaliser simultanément une mélodie d’harmoniques. Cette acrobatie de la voix est virtuose, mais chanter deux sons, simplement superposés, est accessible à tous si on nous donne les clés. 

N’importe qui peut être initié au chant diphonique ! Des exercices de musculation de la bouche, de la langue, de gestion du souffle, contrôler le son avec et sans diphonie, enrichir le timbre de la voix, des exercices pratiques pour aborder la modulation harmonique pouront (selon le niveau) nous mener à réaliser une mélodie en chant diphonique. Avec cette méthode, chacun peut pratiquer l’art xöömij sérieusement chez soi s’il le souhaite. Que le stagiaire soit novice ou déjà initié, en bénéficiant de ce stage, chacun repart avec des méthodes efficaces pour mieux gérer son souffle et enrichir le timbre de sa voix.

Rythme :

On abordera les notions de tempo (interne et externe), d’écoute, de respiration, de nuances et d’ouverture nécessaire pour jouer ensemble. On approchera les rythmes par le chant à l’aide d’onomatopées (ex : TA DOUM ). Après s’être imprégné des différents sons et instruments proposés, tels que les cruches, piano à pouces, lithophones, xylophones, bols tibétains, grelots, tambours, tablas… venus des différents continents, chacun trouvera sa place sur l’instrument de son choix et l’adaptera à son tempérament. Le but sera de créer ensemble des «petites pièces musicales» avec des rythmes simples. Pour cela, le travail consistera à mettre en place progressivement la cohérence rythmique et mélodique pour obtenir un son d’ensemble esthétique et agréable, en harmonie. Chaque stagiaire pourra ainsi se découvrir, acquérir une meilleure assise rythmique et une meilleure confiance en ses capacités de partager… musicalement et humainement.
En fin de stage, nous tenterons de lier la pratique du chant diphonique à celle du rythme afin de créer ensemble une pièce improvisée naturellement pour l’occasion !
Chant diphonique

Souffle ... Tempo ... Harmonie

Rythme avec Martin Dubois
fr_FRFrench
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrench